Why I’m Not Writing About Fashion

When I first got this assignment, my initial reaction was to write about fashion. Easy. I’ve already got a Tumblr revolving around the topic with over 500 followers who would quickly jump to follow yet another blog about this bizarre, vain world. But then last night I tried to write my first post and I realized I had nothing to say. I came up with some clever lists and respectable ideas, but to me it just felt like bullshit. Don’t get me wrong. I’m completely fascinated by this industry, but for the most part it’s just pretty pictures and fantasy.

I’m 21-years-old. So much so that I’m currently drinking a chocolate martini as I write this (celebratory) first post. I’m young, but I’ve been through things. The hard hitting, change you to core things that make you grow up a little faster. Maybe too fast. But see, as angry as I’d like to be, I can’t deny that these events have shaped me. They’ve made me stronger and I guess have turned me into a person of substance.

So I want to create something that provides the world with a bit more substance. Because I think we all need it. I’m not saying I’m going to be some martyr to deliver you all into perspective. But I’d like to offer you some. I’ve been really inspired by Bitch and The Hairpin. Bitch describes itself as a feminist response to pop culture, so I think that’s sort of what you should expect from me here.

Here we go,
Bethany

Leave a Reply

