Admitting Defeat

10th Anniversary of 9/11 Vs. Fashion Week: Conclusion

I’m not going to lie. I looked at more magazines online than I wrote about. But they didn’t get a post because I couldn’t find anything. I will give Glamour credit by noting the piece they had on the main page, “The Most Important 9/11 Lesson for Me: Learning to Help Someone Else.”

I commend you, Wendy Naugle. You gave us a personal story. Something we can wrap our minds around. You were in New York City and you watched as horror unfolded outside of your Editor-in-Chief’s window. The piece also includes advice from Dr. Robin Stern, the author of Project Rebirth: Survival and the Strength of the Human Spirit from 9/11, which goes along with the documentary film below:


While personally I’m much more interested in the documentary than Glamour’s article, it was nice to see. I’m at a loss as to why there seems to be such a lack of substance in these publications when it comes to this specific anniversary. Actually, sometimes overall. But maybe NYFW SHOULD be viewed as a significant piece of news. Because it is. These are the Olympics of the fashion industry and these people are artists and artists who I find inspiration in and follow and appreciate, at that.

Maybe I shouldn’t be offended this anniversary seems to be taking a backseat.

Maybe it should be viewed as a celebration of New York continuing on. “You can’t f***ing stop us.” New York and its inhabitants- they’re SURVIVORS. But it just makes me sad that my favorite publications don’t have a lot to say on something we all have a lot to say about.

After all, aren’t we supposed to be the more emotional of the sexes?

Maybe I’m being sexist against myself and the rest of us by asking that question, but as a woman, I do want things to appeal to me emotionally. Not everything, for goodness sake. But when you’re talking about September 11th, yes. Please. I want goosebumps. I want to FEEL something. Maybe we should keep this in mind.

If you’re interested in what one lady has to say, please do yourself a favor and read this post: “Anniversary” by Megan Amram.

Leave a Reply

