The Good Men Project

I’d like to describe myself as a feminist who thoroughly enjoys men.

In fact, oftentimes I find that I tend to get along with them better than other women. While my best friends are male, there are certain issues I feel that men simply cannot relate to on the same level as women. I’m not saying they can’t understand or manage to comprehend how things feel to a certain extent. But take the subject of sexual assault for example. Men fall victim to these horrific acts, too. I’m aware and respect this. However, they don’t seem to have to deal with the same sort of fear, or the same statistics, as we do.

Realities such as these confuse me and have made me dislike men in the past, present and most likely the future, as well. But, I think it’s important to enlighten oneself on maybe what it feels like to be a man, too.

While the purpose of my blog is to address topics of feminism and our culture, I’ve recently found myself completely fascinated by a project revolving around what it means to be a man in 2011. If you think about it, it might be crucial to research these issues in order to truly understand what it means to be a woman.

The Good Men Project describes itself as “what enlightened masculinity might look like in the 21st century.” It raises the question: “What does it mean to be a good man in these modern times?” to its audience and explores various issues including sex, war, race, politics, fatherhood, aging and psychology.

If you’re not convinced this has anything to do with feminism, please read this article that rocked my world: Why Women Aren’t Crazy.

Leave a Reply

