Important Things

The covers of women’s magazines always make me laugh, but I’ve never realized just how ridiculous these headlines are until this list.

The Hairpin‘s Sarah LaBrie composed a collection of all the things we supposedly want in our lives and in our publications with “What Women Want.” The list consists of the typical cliches we supposedly “aspire to.” From weight loss and perfect hair, to the art of seduction and celebrities, I think this sort of sums it up.

Basically, it’s fluff.

Don’t get me wrong. I like fluffy things. But I also like, you know, real things. Maybe something that makes me think or requires some sort of mind use, at least. I don’t know. I know these magazines can be thrown into the categories of “beauty” or “fashion,” but sometimes I think it’d be nice to see MORE.

What mainstream, prominent women’s magazine can you name off the top of your head that doesn’t feature headlines of this sort on its cover?

To be honest, I can’t even think of one.

Haha! Via Stumble Upon

One thought on “Important Things

  1. Pingback: Little Things that Transform your Health

Leave a Reply

